HSBC Amanah Takaful Malaysia
You are here:

Board of Directors

Kasim bin Zakaria - Independent Non-Executive Director/Chairman

Encik Kasim was appointed on 10 August 2006. He is the Chairman of the Nominating Committee and a member of the Audit Committee and Board Risk Committee of the Company.

Encik Kasim is the General Manager of the Perlis State Economic Development Corporation. He retired from the positions of Chief Executive Officer, Director and Head of Insurance Group of Mayban Fortis Holdings Bhd in June 2005. He brings with him a wealth of experience from the insurance industry for over 30 years at national and regional levels. He obtained his B.Sc. (Business Administration) from the University of Malaya, Malaysia in 1974.



Datuk Haron bin Siraj - Independent Non-Executive Director

Datuk Haron was appointed on 11 July 2006. He is a member of the Audit Committee, Board Risk Committee and Nominating Committee of the Company.

Datuk Haron is currently a Director of Kulim (Malaysia) Berhad. He obtained his B.A. (Hons) Economics from University of Manchester, United Kingdom in 1968 and his M.A. (Dev. Econ) from the Williams College, United States of America in 1975.



K. Vithyatharan A/L V. Karunakaran - Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr K. Vithyatharan was appointed on 6 May 2015. He is the Chairman of the Audit Committee, a member of the Board Risk Committee and Nominating Committee of the Company.

Mr K. Vithyatharan is a knowledgeable and experienced finance and audit professional with over 20 years in carrying out statutory and internal audit, risk management and operations and financial due diligence. He is a qualified Certified Public Accountant with over 15 years’ experience at KPMG globally (served in their London, Bahrain, Qatar, Singapore and Malaysia offices). In addition to his experience in KPMG, he was previously a VP, Credit Risk in Citibank and RHB Bank. He was the director of audit services (Financial Services) in KPMG Bahrain before his retirement as the Acting CEO of Asia Capital Reinsurance Bahrain, a reinsurance company in 2013. He has attended a number of executive leadership programmes including Harvard Business School, Boston.



Sazaliza bin Zainuddin - Non-Independent Non-Executive Director

Encik Sazaliza was appointed on 3 May 2013. He is a member of the Nominating Committee of the Company.

Encik Sazaliza is a graduate from Southbank University, UK in Accounting and Finance. He is also an ACCA holder. He is currently the Senior General Manager (Audit) at Employees Provident Fund (EPF). Prior to joining EPF, he was a Senior Manager at PricewaterhouseCoopers.



Lim Eng Seong - Non-Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Lim Eng Seong was appointed on 21 October 2013.

Mr Lim Eng Seong graduated from University of Malaya with a Bachelor of Economics (Business Administration) Honors. He is currently the Head of Retail Banking and Wealth Management (RBWM) of HSBC Bank Malaysia Berhad (HSBC Malaysia). Prior to joining HSBC Malaysia, he was attached to an international Fast-Moving Consumer Goods company as the Marketing Director. He has worked in Philippines and Thailand, and with extensive experience in product development and marketing of retail business.



Ian Keith Moore - Non-Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Ian Moore was appointed on 29 April 2015. He is a member of the Nominating Committee of the Company.

Mr Ian Moore has worked for HSBC Group for 20 years and has served in various capacities in strategy, finance, product management, retail banking and insurance. In his current role as the Head of Partnerships and International, Group Insurance, he provides strategic guidance and oversight of HSBC’s Insurance joint ventures in Malaysia, India, China and Saudi Arabia. He is currently the Chairman of HSBC Life Insurance (China) and Director of HSBC Insurance (Asia Pacific) Holdings Ltd, HSBC Life Assurance (Malta), SABB Takaful Company, Saudi Arabia and Canara HSBC Oriental Bank of Commerce Life Insurance Company Limited (India).



Saiful Yazan bin Ahmad - Independent Non-Executive Director

Encik Saiful was appointed on 16 March 2016. He is the Chairman of the Board Risk Committee and a member of the Audit Committee of the Company.

Encik Saiful is a Takaful Advisor of Islamic Banking and Financial Institution of Malaysia (IBFIM). He served various positions in several companies and has wide exposure in the insurance and Takaful industry including more than 4 years with Insurance Regulation Department of BNM. He served 2 years with ING PUBLIC Takaful Ehsan Berhad as Chief Executive Officer. He also served as President Director of P. T. Syarikat Takaful Indonesia from 2007 to 2009.

Encik Saiful graduated with a Bachelors of Science in 1986 and a Masters of Science in 1988 from the University of Iowa, USA, with both degrees majoring in Actuarial Science & Statistics. He holds a Masters in Business Administration from Universiti Teknologi MARA in 2003.